SEO Specialization: Q&A with Eric Enge

Coursera Blog

Eric Enge is a search engine optimization expert, the founder and CEO of Stone Temple Consulting, a published author, and a public speaker at search industry conferences. He teaches the SEO Specialization on Coursera.

How did you get started in SEO?

My background is in engineering but I eventually started a business development consulting company. My good friend was the CEO of an e-commerce site that sold DVDs and asked me to come work with him. Not long after, I noticed the opportunity for growth online and said, “Steve, you should consider how to get traffic from search engines.” Like any good CEO, he turned to the person that brought him the problem and said, “Good idea Eric, you go do that for us.” A year later we were doing a couple million dollars in sales from search engines (organic search). Then it dawned on me: “Hey Eric, maybe you should do some more of this,” and it’s been my career ever since.

What is SEO?

Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of tuning your website and your online presence to increase the likelihood that Google and other search engines will rank you more highly in search results. Most people tend to think that the higher rankings happen because a staff of editors somewhere chooses which sites are bad or good and rank them manually, but it’s actually a software algorithm. It’s useful to understand a little bit about how that algorithm works so that you can make sure it understands what your site is about and why it should rank for something.

What made you want to teach on Coursera?