Can you get a job after finishing Codeacademy and Treehouse?

Quora Feeds

Kristin Hoppe

I’ll just tell you what nobody else wants to say on this.

Yes, you can. I have no doubt there are genuine success stories out there. There are also successful developers who are self-taught from a variety of methods and websites — just take the founder of Flatiron School (Avi Flombaum) for example.

It is possible. All that said, the odds are probably lower than if you take a more rigorous programming immersive. There are several factors involved with that, ranging from depth and scope of the program to the outcomes those schools have produced in the past. Moreover, you’re another big factor in this equation. For example, how do you learn? Do you have some kind of mentorship so you know that you’re going in the right direction?

Ultimately, whichever program you decide to take, you should put these elements into consideration:

Are you looking for a career, or just for fun?
If you’re not looking to code seriously, don’t drop a bunch of money on a program that won’t mean something to you. Dabbling in free platforms is a good way to tell if you want to make the commitment, or if it’s just something fun that you want to do on the side. Once you have committed yourself to that idea though, you’ll probably want to evaluate which platform best fits your need and budget. Learn, for example, only admits people who want to use it as a tool for professional advancement. I have a few other Quora posts stacking up similar schools, too, here and here.

Would you benefit from a placements team?