Which is the best course on data analysis or data science on Coursera, Udacity or elsewhere...

Quora Feeds

Jason T Widjaja

A bit late to the question so I'm not sure how much this will be seen, but I felt the need to add an alternative perspective on core data analyst skills that have not been covered.

I am repeating an answer I gave to a related question, but hopefully this helps you save your organisation a lot of pain (and money!).

Let me start with two points:

Firstly, data analysis is not data science and doesn't have to be. There are a lot of skills you should learn that will allow you to add value without doing any modelling. I understand the interest around data science (I did a masters in analytics myself), but sound data analysis has been around for a long time and good analysts are valuable.

Secondly, tools are important but secondary to the task - you just use whatever tools you are comfortable with, as long as the application is fundamentally sound. For instance if you do end up modelling, don't use a binary classifier on a multivariate categoric label. Don't do log transformations on negative values. But whether you use R or SAS for modelling or Quikview or Tableau for visualisation doesn't matter. It is like having a conversation about whether brand X or brand Y pencils are better for drawing.

So with that in mind, here are seven suggestions that I've mostly learned the hard way, and try my best to drill into my analysts:

Understand the data generating process. You are given purchase order data. If you took it at face value without understanding that half of the data was automatically generated and half was manually input, with different lead times, that would have cost you hundreds of thousands in bad inventory forecasting.