From Content Developer to Fiction Writer

Coursera Blog

Ana felt stuck in her job as a content developer and was looking for ways to pursue her passion of writing. After taking courses on Coursera, she gained the skills and confidence she needed to make the jump and turn her dreams into reality. Here’s her story:

I heard someone talking about learning platforms and about how education is being shaped by technology, so I looked it up online and found Coursera. I can say that I was instantly hooked by their approach to education and decided to create an account right away. Since signing up, I go to Coursera for guidance whenever I need to gain in-depth knowledge of a specific subject or to improve a particular skill.

I am a Brazilian writer and content developer with a BA in History and an MA in Anthropology. I took my BA in Florianópolis, Brazil, and my MA in London, UK, from 2011 to 2012. Since I came back to my country, I’ve been applying the knowledge and experience of living abroad to building a career as a writer. For two years I worked as a writer and editor at a company that develops content, resources, and solutions for distance education. I loved my job, but the amount of time I spent going to work every morning and coming back at the end of the day started getting to me. I felt more and more drained with every passing week.

The first course I took on Coursera was Seeing Through Photographs, offered by MoMA. Photography is a hobby that I’ve been pursuing for some time. So I saw the course as an opportunity to learn more about the history of photography and to gather different perspectives on it as a tool for self-expression. Then came the Creative Writing Specialization by Wesleyan University. I felt that I needed to learn more about the process of creating and maturing plots, characters, and settings before I wrote and published my first novel. I’m halfway through my first novel now and I intend to have it published by the end of next year.