Meet the Courserians: Giovanni Bonin, “Coursera has helped me unlock my true potential”

Coursera Blog

As part of our Meet the Courserians blog series, we caught up with Giovanni Bonin, a Software Engineer at Coursera working on the Growth team. Giovanni is passionate about expanding Coursera’s reach around the world largely because of his own experiences as a Coursera learner.

Giovanni-Quote-3.jpg

What was your path to Coursera?

As I was growing up in a small town in Brazil, I always knew that I wanted to leave the country and work in technology. When I was 15, I was an exchange student in South Carolina and attended an American high school where I took my first engineering class. That year solidified my desire to come to the US, move to Silicon Valley, and work in tech. Through my new online network of fellow exchange students, I discovered Coursera. Suddenly I could study everything I’d been wanting to and through these top courses that the Ivy League students had. The year before college I took six or seven courses on Coursera at a time, from basic programming to Daphne’s advanced courses.