How can I decide between Bloc and The Firehose Project for a boot camp?

Quora Feeds

Joey Kirk

I’m a former student of Bloc’s Rails Web Development program and currently a Curriculum Developer in charge of the UX & UI programs. My experience as a student was worthwhile, allowing me to gain the skills I wanted to learn, while building several projects I’m proud of.

While both of these online bootcamps offer one-on-one mentorship, each differ in flexibility, curriculum, and pricing:

• Full-Time or Part-Time
    Bloc offers a variety of paces (12 weeks, 18 weeks or 36 weeks) to fit with any schedule, so students don’t have to quit their jobs just to gain new skills as a Rails developer. We also have a Full Stack Web Developer track that covers Ruby on Rails and Frontend web development. Firehose offers a 15-week bootcamp.
  • Mentor-Based Learning
    Both Bloc and Firehose have one-on-one mentorship. With Bloc, all of our courses are tailored to each student. Each work with an engaged mentor who can customize the curriculum to fit their goals and interests. Bloc’s mentor community is extensive, featuring over a hundred highly experienced developers and designers to help teach you the skills you want to learn. Bloc’s mentors have a wide variety of experience and on average 10 years of development and design experience while working for major companies, startups, as well as freelance. Firehose’s mentor page features about 15 mentors from a variety of well-known companies.
  • Curriculum