What is something useful about Engineering you can teach within 10 minutes and make me feel...

Quora Feeds

Russell Nagami

Working as an engineer, I use maybe 1% of the things I learned in college/graduate school (I do a lot of programming and learned to program in HS). The most important thing I learned was how to think, and how engineers think is something useful you can learn the basics of in less than 10 minutes.

When solving a problem the general procedure is:
Write down the problem you want to solve clearly. Pictures help.
List your assumptions about the problem, and check them.
List what you know that might be useful (equations typically in engineering) and make a plan.
Do the work (plug what you know into equations in engineering)
Check your solution for sanity (if it takes 1mm x 1mm piece of steel to suspend a bridge, you're probably forgetting something).

I had an engineering example, but it would be boring to a non-engineer. Let's apply this thought process to losing weight.

First, define the problem:
- I want to lose weight.
Not good enough. You don't really want to lose weight, you want to look sexy and attract whatever floats your boat, as well as live longer.
- I want to look and feel good.
Better, but not measurable.
- I want to lower my BF% to 15%, get 5 of my friends/family to comment on how much better I look, and improve my HDL/LDL cholesterol ratio by X%.
There you go! Something you can measure that is directly tied to what you actually want.

List your assumptions and check them:
Here are some assumptions people may have that I think are BS. Feel free to have your own opinion.
  • I am fat because of my genetics. (BS, this is an excuse. Even if it's true, look for programs specifically for your needs.)
  • If I eat less I can lose weight. (BS, if it was this easy, everyone would be thin)
  • If I run it will help me meet my goal. (BS, if you're overweight you're just going to destroy your knees)