Self-taught programmers, have any of you created a curriculum for yourself?

Quora Feeds

Jin Suk Park

I never knew anything about programming before I took introductory programming class in my first semester of freshmen year.

As a ME student I had to teach myself without taking CS classes during semester so I simply went through all the lecture notes on Data structures, OOP, and I also did assignments that were handed out during semester. I also did some class projects in standford (i.e. Pintos)

Aside from those 'academic programming', I got into hacking club in my school, where I learned linux, python, unix api programming, and a general sense of how to teach myself by googling. I also had to learn how to hack websites so I taught myself web dev in w3school.

I generally know more than my CS friends, not because I took more classes than them but because I kept asking questions anything how computer works. So keep asking questions - how does compiler work? How does facebook remember me?

Some stuff are too sophisticated to be on google. Thats when you go to amazon and buy the book.

EDIT:

I didnt' write the details because my phone was short on battery. This is the path I taught myself: (in order)
1. C/C++
2. Data Structures
3. Computer Systems: A Programmer's Perspective
Gives you a better grasp of how computer works and what you would be dealing with when you become a developer. I think this is something that distinguishes self-taught programmer and formally educated programmer.
4. Operating Systems Concepts(The dinosaur book)
I finished the pintos project( course project in OS class in stanford).