Maya Adam: A passion for education and empathy

Coursera Blog

Maya Adam, M.D. is a lecturer at Stanford University School of Medicine and instructor of a new course, Health Across the Gender Spectrum, on Coursera. Through a series of illustrated personal stories, Health Across the Gender Spectrum explores a wide variety of health issues faced by transgender children. The Coursera team had the chance — just days before Maya leaves for the next year to start a health education platform in South Africa — to ask her some questions about her inspiration, process, and key takeaways from making the course.

COURSERA: Why did you decide to create this course?

MAYA ADAM: I’ve been teaching an undergraduate course at Stanford since 2009 called “Critical Issues in Child Health.” In 2011, a student came up to me after class and said she loved the course, but it was missing one critical issue of child health — transgender children’s health.

I knew she was right. I also realized that the topic of transgender children had never been mentioned in my own medical education. While I think of myself as an educated, open-minded person, I didn’t know much about the challenges that face this group of children. The next year I invited some physicians who practice in this field to teach a guest lecture, and that was when I began to learn about the struggles faced by transgender children and their families.

C: You spoke with several families in the creation of “Health Across the Gender Spectrum.” Is there one particularly memorable conversation that you had?