Culture-Driven Team Building: A Conversation with Derek Newberry

Coursera Blog

Derek Newberry is Affiliated Faculty at the University of Pennsylvania, and a leadership development consultant in the areas of interpersonal communication, collaboration, and corporate culture. He co-teaches Culture-Driven Team Building Specialization. As a business anthropologist, he advises senior leaders in Fortune 500 companies and major non-profits on the human factors that drive organizational effectiveness.

What sparked your interest in team building?

My background is actually a little different for teaching and working in the business as I do now. I’m a cultural anthropologist and received my Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in cultural anthropology. I focused on how organizations form cultures over time, how those cultures fragment, and why cultural conflicts surface. What I realized is that the most important unit in an organization is the team. I look at team building from an anthropological and practical standpoint.

I’ve studied and consulted organizations on improving culture and creating high performing teams, and over the years, I was able to recognize the problems teams come across and how to fix them. Teams often underperform compared to their potential and that’s a fundamental challenge they face. My goal is to help teams reach their maximum potential.

Who should take the Culture-Driven Team Building Specialization?

Anyone would find this course useful but especially those who find themselves at a crossroad where they’re starting a new project or starting a new role in a new company and they want to learn some principles to help them start off on the right foot. We rely on teams in every aspect of life so this course will give people the basic principles for working with others effectively.

Why is observation a key component in team building?