A Peek into Coursera’s Global Translator Community

Coursera Blog

Have you ever wondered how Coursera’s lecture subtitles are translated? Do you speak a foreign language and want to be a part of Coursera’s Global Translator Community (GTC)?

The GTC is a community of Coursera learners who help make the world’s best online educational content more accessible through translation. Since 2014, the GTC have translated 50K+ Coursera videos and 700+ courses into more than 40 languages. September 30th is International Translation Day and this year, we held a week long competition to celebrate it. Here are the two winners stories:

Diana Guerrero Paz

I was born in Madrid, Spain. I translate from English to Spanish, and I have translated nearly 800K words on Coursera so far. I studied Classical Philology at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid and became a member of GTC in April, 2016.

Courses I have helped translate include: The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs, Organizational Behaviour: How to Manage People and Advertising and Society.

I translated Coursera courses because I wanted to know more about these subjects. The translating process was fun and I want to keep learning by translating.

The idea of spreading knowledge by having only a computer is a wonderful one. I am very proud of being able to help translate Coursera courses. Although I am only translating into Spanish and I have only helped with a few courses, it’s my grain of sand to this great and significant project.

Artem Basenko

I am from Nizhny Tagil, Russia and currently I work as a Senior Engineer for Huawei. I have been a member of the GTC since May 2015 and a Language Coordinator for the Russian community since May 2016.