Mayank: Solving Real-Life Supply Chain Network Design Problems

edX Blog

We are excited to continue to share learner stories from the MITx Supply Chain Management MicroMasters program that demonstrate how MicroMasters programs are helping people improve their lives and advance their careers.

Today, Mayank, a supply chain consultant working with Antuit Consulting, shares how he is leveraging the Supply Chain Management MicroMasters courses to deliver impactful results and share effective business insights with his clients.

With new enhancements in computational capabilities, it is becoming easier for businesses to tackle complex big-data optimization and forecasting problems. The supply chain industry has significantly benefited from these advancements to improve planning, thereby enhancing overall operational efficiency.

I work as a supply chain consultant in network optimization, a field that is directly impacted by the increase in big-data, because as the volume of data grows, the bandwidth of the network a company is using to transfer that data must also grow. I have contributed to some key projects such as strategic network optimization for a U.S. based food and beverage company, freight procurement optimization for a U.K. based pharmaceutical and consumer healthcare company and tactical network optimization for a U.S. based global dairy giant.

During these and several other projects, I observed that the fundamental idea driving success for any optimization or forecasting exercise depends on two key factors: efficiency in modeling real-world business challenges using mathematical constraints and presentation of model outputs to key business users in insight-driven business language.