What's the difference between the Data Analyst and Machine Learning Engineer Nanodegrees at...

Quora Feeds

Melvin Dunn

The answer you want:

Data Analysts usually do not build models. They explore data, and generally use descriptive statistics. Sometimes they’ll use advanced tests like correlations and other multivariate tests. Machine Learning engineers build statistical models, from my understanding. They may even program models into applications, which makes more sense given the title. Data Scientists do both and much more. If you really want to do the Udacity program, do the Machine Learning Engineer.

The answer you need:

If you’re simply interested in building predictive models, I would take Andrew Ng’s course. It’s very intuitive, and I have no idea what your background is:

Machine Learning - Stanford University | Coursera

Also, I’ve spent a considerable portion of my natural life on Udacity, since I’m in Georgia Tech’s OMSCS program. Most of the Machine Learning related courses don’t have any step-by-steps for building models (Maybe Deep Learning?). They explain the theory behind them. Same goes for the Stanford course. Even though I also teach Data Science for a company like Udacity, I’d recommend not throwing your money at institutions in order to achieve the American dream. Don’t get me wrong, I love Udacity and support them. I just don’t want to steer you or any other person reading this the wrong way.

If you wish to build models and become a real Data Scientist:

1. Take Andrew Ng’s course
  2. If you program:
    1. Download Python. You can also download R. People in the field usually know both in Data Science.
    2. There are many packages in R all scattered about. Many made by Hadley Wickham. In Python, you should probably download scikit-learn, scipy, numpy, and pandas packages. Install pip if you haven’t already.