Interview Portia Snijders: MOOCs are not just for the 26-35 year olds!

Carolyn

Founder at MoocLab
Staff member
Group Manager
Portia is a 53 year-old lady from The Netherlands. She studied Law and worked for an insurance company before having to put her career on hold for health reasons. Given her situation, Portia turned to MOOCs as a way to develop her knowledge for personal interest. So far, she has completed over 20 MOOCs across several different platforms.

Portia Snijders.jpg

Portia Snijders
Portia joins our interview series to share her experiences and insights on learning with MOOCs.

Interview

Carolyn: Can you tell us a little about your background?

Portia:
Before discovering the world of MOOC’s I was already interested in teach-yourself courses. That way I studied Chinese language for some years. I also like travelling, cooking, reading, geocache (outdoor game with gps), crosswords and knitting.

Carolyn: How did you first become acquainted with MOOCs and what attracted you to them?

Portia:
My husband told me about it, he watched an item about it at an American talk show (Stephen Colbert). Studying at home, but getting in touch with other students by discussion forums attracted me.

Carolyn: You have completed over 20 MOOCs so far – what fields were they in and which ones stand out for you and why?

Portia:
ChinaX: a MOOC in 10 modules, lasting 1 1⁄2 year, about the whole history and culture of China from Shang Dynasty till today. Taught by 2 professors and several guest speakers. Interesting, lively discussion forum (still are friends with some of the other students), and afterwards you know about history, but also a bit about philosophy, Chinese arts, Tang Poetry, etc.

I also liked the MOOC’s about Chinese philosophy a lot and the MOOC’s about (American) poetry.

Both philosophy courses took it to a level where you can practise some of the wisdom today.