Navigating Technology Trends with a Master of Computer Science

Coursera Blog

Blog-9.png

Mohamed Sarwat is a professor of computer science at Arizona State University. He recently participated in a Quora session where he answered questions on Computer Science trends and how to navigate higher education when pursuing a career in CS. Read our highlights from the session below:

Do self-taught programmers struggle more than those with undergrad or graduate degrees at work?

Not necessarily! However, I have to say that holding a computer science degree is becoming a requirement. I would also go one step further and claim that the tech titans such as Google, Facebook, and Amazon prefer to hire individuals who hold a graduate degree in computer science.

Some areas where I think individuals who don’t hold the formal CS degree might struggle with are data science and AI. The reason is that such areas require that the individual masters several sub-areas, which are not easy to learn on your own without an advanced degree. For example, a data scientist needs to:

(1) be proficient in one or more high level programming languages like C/C++ and Java as well as major scripting languages such as Python and R.

(2) be able to manage, maintain, and retrieve data stored in large-scale data databases. Hence, learning SQL, as the most widely-used query language, is also becoming a must.

(3) be able to test various hypotheses on data. She cannot do that without a solid understanding of statistical terminologies such as Mean, Standard Deviation, P-value, and the Null Hypothesis…