Let’s Call ‘Soft’ Skills What They Really Are: Power Skills

Coursera Blog

By Lila Ibrahim

I’ve been working in the tech industry for 25 years, and I’ve noticed a trend recently that leaves me scratching my head: We seem to value technical skills much more than the core people skills that actually make people effective at work.

While technical competence and expertise are certainly important, I like working with people who know how to communicate their ideas, use their influence to move important projects through potential roadblocks, and who get me excited about our work together.

We call people skills “soft” skills, but I think it’s time to reframe that conversation, to make sure we’re giving these foundational skills the emphasis they deserve. Let’s commit to calling them what they are — power skills. Here’s why they’re so important, and what you can do to promote power skills at your organization.

Power Skills Separate Leaders from the Pack

If you’ve worked with technical teams, you’ve probably know this scene all too well: Most people sit in front of their computers all day, dutifully working on the problems they’re tasked with solving.

But there are always a few who take a different approach: they get up and walk around, talk to the people whose business challenges they’re working on, and find out who has the different pieces of information they need. They say ‘yes’ a lot. They take on work that falls outside of their core responsibilities. They learn how to talk in front of groups of people. They follow their natural curiosity. They deliver on their work, while building something bigger than the original task.

Getting up from their desks and developing new relationship muscles leads these people on a unique path and pushes them into management positions sooner than their peers.