Learner Story: Got Qualified. Built Confidence. Found a job.

Coursera Blog

Learner_Doug_Blog.jpg

As an English major with an entry-level job in data and analytics, Doug Wade felt lost and unqualified. Then, his roommate introduced him to Coursera, where he was able to expand his skills in database management and software engineering. When the coursework he’d posted on Github caught the attention of an Amazon recruiter, his career suddenly began to take off. Here’s Doug’s story:

I graduated from UC Berkeley in May 2010, with a double major in English Literature and Russian Language. I got exactly one job offer, from a company in Madison, WI, and I was so excited to move out of my parents’ house that I didn’t ask a lot of questions about what I’d be doing. The job was called “Division Operations,” and the job description indicated that I’d be reading reports, talking to people, and then summarizing the results of my research—very close to what I was used to doing in school.

When I arrived, the company put me through their developer boot camp to learn a language called M. I was totally lost. I remember stopping class for a solid 10 minutes one day, and the befuddled expression on my instructor’s face when I insisted that explanations like “By reference is on the heap; by value is on the stack” clarified nothing for me.

Eventually, I understood that my new position was mostly a data and analytics position, and that most of what I was doing was retrieving data, warehousing it in SQL and MDX databases, and then producing reports using SSRS and Excel, which meant learning a ton of new tools including SQL, VBA, and some C#. I felt unqualified to communicate with developers - I didn’t have the technical chops to understand what they were talking about. I limped along like this for about a year, a mediocre employee just faking it and scraping by.